Two Georgia Tech Students Named Department of Energy Graduate Fellows

Sarah Miracle and Chris Shearer have been selected to receive fellowships as part of a new U.S. Department of Energy Graduate Fellowship program.

Both are pursuing Ph.D.s at Georgia Tech. Miracle is studying randomized algorithms and Markov chains in the School of Computer Science in the College of Computing, while Shearer is investigating sustainable concrete materials technology in the School of Civil and Environmental Engineering in the College of Engineering.

Miracle and Shearer are two of 150 students selected by the Department of Energy to receive the fellowship this year. Each graduate fellow will be provided with tuition, living expenses and research support for three years for study at academic institutions across the country.  The new fellowship program is designed to strengthen the nation's scientific workforce by providing support to young students during the formative years of their research.

"The exceptionally talented students selected as graduate fellows are part of our nation's next generation of scientific and technical leaders," said U.S. Energy Secretary Steven Chu.  "This investment in the training of scientists and engineers is part of the administration's continued effort to ensure that America has the scientific and engineering workforce we need to secure our energy future and our continued economic competitiveness."

The goal of the fellowship program is to encourage students to pursue graduate degrees in physics, chemistry, biology, mathematics, engineering and environmental and computer sciences fields that will prepare students for careers that can make significant contributions in discovery-driven science and science for national needs in energy and the environment.

Each fellow will be provided $50,500 per year for up to three years to support tuition, living expenses, research materials and travel to research conferences or to Department of Energy scientific user facilities.  Support comes in part from $12.5 million provided by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act.

For a complete list of awardees and eligibility requirements, visit the Office of Science Graduate Fellowship program.