Dr. Terry W. Sturm tapped for the prestigious hydraulic engineering award

The American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) has announced that CEE Professor Dr. Terry W. Sturm has been selected to receive the prestigious 2013 Hunter Rouse Hydraulic Engineering Award.

Established in 1979, this award and lectureship are endowed by the Environmental and Water Resources Institute (EWRI) to honor the late Dr. Hunter Rouse, a renowned hydraulician and educator known for his research on the mechanics of fluid turbulence.

In announcing the award, ASCE Executive Director Patrick J. Natale, P.E., F.ASCE, praised Sturm “for his fundamental and innovative contributions in the area of hydraulic engineering, most notably in fluid mechanics and sediment transport. The committee was particularly impressed with Dr. Sturm’s work in the area of open channel flow and with his contributions to the principles of hydraulics.”

A member of the CEE faculty since 1978, Sturm is the recipient of several other professional honors, including the 2012 ASCE Life Member Award and the Georgia Engineering Alliance’s 2008 Engineer of the Year in Education Award. In 2010 he was named chief editor for the ASCE Journal of Hydraulic Engineering.

Sturm will officially receive the Rouse Award during the 2013 World Environmental and Water Resources Congress, to be held in Cincinnati, Ohio, May 19-23.

As the recipient of this honor, Sturm has been invited to present a Hunter Rouse Hydraulic Engineering Lecture at the EWRI Congress in Cincinnati in May. That lecture on recent research in bridge foundation scour caused by extreme hydrologic events will be published in an ASCE-EWRI journal.

At Georgia Tech, Sturm teaches graduate courses in open channel hydraulics and sediment transport. In addition, he has taught continuing education courses on river hydraulics, culvert design, and bridge scour. His most recent experimental research centers around the sediment-water interface in natural watercourses and the hydrodynamic processes that occur there such as flow resistance, cohesive sediment resuspension, and local bridge scour.

Upon receiving notice of this honor, Sturm was quick to praise his CEE colleagues.

“I am very appreciative of the supportive atmosphere that the School has provided for me over the past few years,” said Sturm. “First, by supporting the hydraulics laboratory, and second in the trust that the Chair has placed in me with regard to important leadership positions.”

Karen and John Huff School Chair Dr. Reginald DesRoches applauded ASCE’s decision, noting, “I am pleased to see Terry recognized for his many outstanding contributions in fluid mechanics and sediment transport. He has been a great scholar, mentor, and leader in the School. This honor is well-deserved.”