16 CEEatGT Students Receive Women In Engineering Corporate Scholarships

Every year, the Women in Engineering (WIE) banquet brings together nearly 500 students, alumni, corporate partners and Institute leaders to recognize and celebrate the accomplishments of female engineering students who have achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.0 and above. This event also serves as a platform to recognize student and faculty leaders through Student Mentoring Awards, Faculty Mentoring Awards, and Teaching Excellence Awards.

This year, companies awarded scholarships worth $131,000 to 117 female students, including 16 from the School of Civil and Environmental:

  • Brandie Banner (CE) - Union Pacific
  • Valerie Bermudez (CE) - CH2M Hill
  • Grace Devine (EnvE) - John Deere
  • April Gadsby (CE) - Hilti
  • Maya Goldman (CE) - Fluor
  • Amelia Goydich (CE) - Hilti
  • Lauren Graham (CE) - Boeing
  • Xinbei Guan (EnvE) - Union Pacific
  • Diane Jlelaty (CE) - GM
  • Raunac Khandaker (CE) - GM
  • Hannah Larson (EnvE) - John Deere
  • Winnie Long (CE) - Bechtel
  • Gina Maresca (EnvE) - John Deere
  • Taylor McKie (EnvE) - Bechtel
  • Alyssa Perkins (CE) - Fluor
  • Rebecca Yoo (CE) - Norfolk Southern

Corporate engagement is a crucial aspect of the Women in Engineering program, and these scholarships are an annual expression of WIE’s industry partners’ shared commitment to encouraging greater female participation in engineering professions. Each company defines its own parameters for scholarships they wish to give, and WIE reviews and recommends deserving students for these awards. Scholarships are awarded based on academic excellence, financial need, and involvement with women-focused professional organizations, such as WIE and Society of Women Engineers, as well as other criteria specified by each of the corporate sponsors.

Additionally, CEEatGT's Professor John Koon received one of two 2014 WIE Faculty Awards, and CEEatGT's Lauren Dermody received the 2014 Helen Grenga Outstanding Engineer Award.

View photos from the event on our Facebook page.