Faculty & Staff

Covid-19 Response: Wastewater-Based Epidemiology

Associate Professor Joe Brown is among 60 researchers who have created a global collaborative to learn more about the spread of Covid-19 through wastewater. In a paper published in Environmental Science & Technology, the researchers explained that RNA from the coronavirus is shed in the feces of those infected with Covid-19. This allows researchers to survey sewage for virus RNA, a process they refer to as wastewater-based epidemiology (WBE).

Friday, October 9, 2020

Jacobs Appointed Interim Dean of College Engineering

Laurence J. Jacobs, associate dean for Academic Affairs in the College of Engineering and professor of civil and environmental engineering and mechanical engineering, has been appointed interim dean of the College of Engineering.

Friday, September 18, 2020

Paulino Awarded Daniel C. Drucker Medal

A candid photo of Professor Glaucio Paulino

Professor Glaucio Paulino has been selected as the winner of the Daniel C. Drucker Medal from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. The Drucker Medal was established in 1997 and is conferred in recognition of distinguished contributions to the field of applied mechanics and mechanical engineering through research, teaching and service to the community.

Wednesday, August 26, 2020

Huang Appointed Turnipseed Family Chair

Professor Ching-Hua Huang has been appointed the Turnipseed Family Chair, a new endowed position in the School of Civil and Environmental Engineering.

Wednesday, August 26, 2020

Taylor Elected to National Academy of Construction

Professor John E. Taylor stands in front of the Mason Building

Professor John E. Taylor has been recognized as one of the nation’s most distinguished engineering and construction professionals after being elected to the National Academy of Construction.

Election to the academy is reserved for exceptional leaders representing all sectors of the built environment who have made a significant impact on the engineering and construction industry. Taylor is one of 36 new members selected for the 2020 class through a rigorous peer nomination and election process.

Wednesday, August 19, 2020

CEE Faculty Selected to Lead Smart Development Projects in 3 Georgia Communities

Georgia Tech has announced the four communities that will be part of the 2020 Georgia Smart cohort—with three of the four projects led by CEE faculty members. The 2020 winning communities— Clayton County and the cities of Sandy Springs, Savannah, and Valdosta—will work with Georgia Tech and other community partners to improve their quality of life by promoting walkability, streamlining bus service, managing traffic signals and more.

Friday, August 7, 2020

Georgia Tech Team Wins $1 Million Grant to Lead University Transportation Center

A team led by Georgia Tech researchers has been awarded a $1 million grant from the U.S. Department of Transportation to address declining transit ridership. The grant establishes the research consortium as one of four new Tier 1 University Transportation Centers (UTCs), which are funded to address critical transportation challenges facing the United States. Just four teams were selected from nearly 70 applications to receive the UTC grants.

Monday, August 3, 2020

New Research Center Will Study Mine Tailings and Industrial Waste

The Akyem Mine TSF Cell 1 (background) and TSF Cell 2 (foreground) at a tailings storage facility in Ghana.

A new research center called TAILENG, headquartered at Georgia Tech, has been established to study mine tailings and industrial waste.

Thursday, July 9, 2020

Amekudzi-Kennedy Honored by Georgia Tech for Curriculum Innovation

 A Portrait of Professor Adjo Amekudzi-Kennedy

Professor Adjo Amekudzi-Kennedy has been named the 2020 winner of Georgia Tech’s Curriculum Innovation Award. This award is given annually to one faculty member for improving the quality of education at Georgia Tech through pedagogical and curricular innovation.

Thursday, June 18, 2020


Subscribe to Faculty & Staff