CEE Student Wins National Transportation Award

Monday, June 22, 2020

Prerna Singh

PhD student Prerna Singh has been selected for a national scholarship for graduate students in transportation.

Singh, a third year PhD student and graduate research assistant in the Infrastructure Research Group, was selected out of more than 50 candidates to win the WTS Leadership Legacy Scholarship.

The Leadership Legacy Fund was established to honor the past, present and future leaders of WTS—a group for women in the transportation industry—by awarding an annual scholarship to female graduate students pursuing careers in transportation.

Each year, the scholarship provides a $5,000 award to a young woman working toward a graduate degree in transportation or a related field. Candidates must demonstrate leadership skills and an active commitment to community service.

This year's award focuses on women who demonstrate leadership in bringing ideas, innovation, and new approaches to transportation challenges in the U.S. and beyond.  It includes candidates who have a specific interest in addressing the impact of transportation on sustainability, land use, environmental impact, security, and quality of life issues affecting communities around the globe.

Singh was selected for the national award after winning the local Leadership Legacy Scholarship from the Atlanta chapter of WTS in fall 2019. Each chapter in the country nominated their winner for the national award, and Singh was selected from more than 50 other chapter winners.