Paulino Awarded Daniel C. Drucker Medal

Wednesday, 26 August 2020
A candid photo of Professor Glaucio Paulino

Glaucio Paulino

Professor Glaucio Paulino has been selected as the winner of the Daniel C. Drucker Medal from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

The Drucker Medal was established in 1997 and is conferred in recognition of distinguished contributions to the field of applied mechanics and mechanical engineering through research, teaching and service to the community.

“I was humbled and surprised by the award,” Paulino said. “I have a special spot for Drucker in my scientific heart as some of my papers were based on his work. Drucker was a giant in the field of applied mechanics and an authority on the theory of plasticity.”

This year, ASME selected Paulino to receive the 2020 Daniel C. Drucker Medal for his “pioneering contributions to the field of mechanics, particularly advances in geometric mechanics associated with origami and tensegrity engineering that led to the creation of multifunctional structures and configurational metamaterials with unprecedented properties.”

The award will be conferred during the 2020 ASME International Mechanical Engineering Congress & Exposition (IMECE).

Paulino, who holds the Raymond Allen Jones Chair in the School of Civil and Environmental Engineering, is the first professor from Georgia Tech to receive the prestigious medal. He has more than 240 scholarly publications and has attracted international attention for his work on computational mechanics, topology optimization and origami engineering.

Paulino has been connected to ASME throughout his career, including leading the Committee on Computing in Applied Mechanics and serving as associate editor of the Journal of Applied Mechanics. He was named a fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers in 2019—a rare distinction for a professor of civil engineering. 

He’s also a fellow of the American Academy of Mechanics, the Engineering Mechanics Institute of the American Society of Civil Engineers, the US Association for Computational Mechanics and the International Association for Computational Mechanics.