Srinivas Peeta Receives 2020 Matthew G. Karlaftis Best Paper Award

Graduate student Jianfeng Zhou

Srinivas Peeta, who holds the Frederick R. Dickerson Chair in the School of Civil and Environmental Engineering and a joint appointment in the H. Milton Stewart School of Industrial and Systems Engineering, has been recognized with the 2020 Matthew G. Karlaftis Best Paper Award.

The award is given annually for the best paper that appears in the Journal of Infrastructure Systems. Peeta and his former Ph.D. student, Mohammad Miralinaghi, currently a postdoctoral research associate at Purdue University, were honored for “Design of a Multiperiod Tradable Credit Scheme under Vehicular Emissions Caps and Traveler Heterogeneity in Future Credit Price Perception.”

In particular, the award committee cited Peeta and Miralinaghi’s work for its novel pricing-based market-driven mechanism to manage vehicular emissions in an effort to achieve sustainability for urban transportation infrastructure.

You can read more about their research and the award, given in honor of the late Professor Matthew G. Karlaftis, here.